The free website to help new writers to develop, and to help talented writers get noticed and published Books

This site. << Return To Main Site

Welcome to the YouWriteOn Forum

**News Random House & Orion Editors to continue free reviews of YouWriteOn Top Ten Writer  - publishers of many of the world's bestselling authors 

YouWriteOn Authors'  Congratulations to our many authors achieving sales and signings successes through  Waterstones, Amazon and others! 

YouWriteOn Message Board > Literary Forums > It Was A Dark And Stormy Night... Help Search Recent Posts
This site.
Page 1 Last : 2 > Start New Topic Reply To Topic
TerryReader
 16 Nov 2016, 17:09 #200062 Reply To Post
Hi

I've been using this site for several years and have been happy with it, my writing has improved. I even managed to get into the top ten recently.

As a result of this I wanted to look a bit deeper into the workings, and apparently we get a review from someone from one of the big publishing houses if we can manage to stay in the top ten for (a month?) I think.

Anyway, so since my story got into the top ten, in spite of having 4 credits, nobody has read my piece and it has dropped out of the top ten.

The recent closure of Authonomy, which I did not use btw, has made me question this site and whole idea of peer review sites.

In other words, apart from aiding the novice writer, do they serve any useful purpose? I've tried to ask via the contact email, but they, whoever mat be, do not reply personally to emails.

Also this site has not changed in all the years I've been using it. The same books covers are up there to show that some books have made publishing. (Pig detective Agency - Caliguala) Are there any since then?

I've worked pretty hard at getting my writing to a better level and this site has helped me. But is that it?

Does anyone know anything?
pipio
 17 Nov 2016, 00:21 #200063 Reply To Post
Quote: TerryReader, Wednesday, 16 Nov 2016 17:09
Hi