The free website to help new writers to develop, and to help talented writers get noticed and published Books

I'm Flummoxed by the Self Promotion Aspect of Self Publishing via YWO... << Return To Main Site

Welcome to the YouWriteOn Forum

**News Random House & Orion Editors to continue free reviews of YouWriteOn Top Ten Writer  - publishers of many of the world's bestselling authors 

YouWriteOn Authors'  Congratulations to our many authors achieving sales and signings successes through  Waterstones, Amazon and others! 

YouWriteOn Message Board > The YouWriteOn Forum > YouWriteOn and Literary Agent News Help Search Recent Posts
I'm Flummoxed by the Self Promotion Aspect of Self Publishing via YWO...
Page 1 Start New Topic Reply To Topic
JessicaH
 22 Oct 2011, 12:05 #133243 Reply To Post
Could anyone advise me?

It seems so difficult to attract the favourable notice of agents that I am thinking of this, but am a complete novice, and the combination of the technical aspects and the business of promoting seems a minefield...Whinge, whinge...
I did start a blog, website etc thinking in terms of promotion, but interest was not high [blush].

Also, after self publishing do people often go on to attract agents notice by sending them a copy of the book, rather than the infamous sample chapters....

Thanks in advance. I have been away a long while, rewriting in line with Cornerstones recommendations...
Jessica

sulcus
 22 Oct 2011, 12:46 #133247 Reply To Post
Quote: JessicaH, Saturday, 22 Oct 2011 12:05
Could anyone advise me?

It seems so difficult to attract the favourable notice of agents that I am thinking of this, but am a complete novice, and the combination of the technical aspects and the business of promoting seems a minefield...Whinge, whinge...
I did start a blog, website etc thinking in terms of promotion, but interest was not high [blush].